[RESOLVED] Demoing on OSX (10.6), but..(sound and gui issue)

Bug Reporting
Post Reply
bachmaninoff
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Dec 2010 09:57

[RESOLVED] Demoing on OSX (10.6), but..(sound and gui issue)

Post by bachmaninoff » 31 Dec 2010 03:22

1: Demo 1.15 (OSX/AU version)
2: Renoise 2.6.1 OSX
3: GUI doesn't come up. Only list of sliders, Freq and Res being the top two, the rest blank
4: Load KarmaFX into an instrument slot, select external editor and window doesn't show correct GUI.

-------------------

1. Demo 1.15 (OSX/AU Version)
2. Garageband 5.1
3a. No sound. (Checked against other plugins such as Zebra demo and Korg M1 Legacy)
3b. Some modules in the presets are off the GUI window, with no way to scroll the background to access them.
4. Load KarmaFX into sound generator, play notes on keyboard, no sound. No graphical indication that anything is happening on KarmaFX. MIDI indicator is good on Garageband main window.

karmafx
Site Admin
Posts: 1181
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 16:37

Re: Demoing on OSX (10.6), but... (sound and gui issue)

Post by karmafx » 31 Dec 2010 10:57

Hi bachmaninoff and welcome to the forum!

Thanks so much for the detailed bug report.

Needless to say, I'm very sorry to hear you're having so many problems running the demo. :oops:

Regarding Renoise: It sounds like a 64bit <> 32bit issue.
The gui will not show up if the host app is 64 bit. This is a (so far) unresolved issue, until a workaround or a 64 bit version of KarmaFX Synth is made. Could that be it?

The Garageband 5.1 problem, however, is peculiar, since I have specifically tested in Garageband (although under a different osx version).

I will test in both Garageband and Renoise and get back to you.
Thanks again.

bachmaninoff
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Dec 2010 09:57

Re: Demoing on OSX (10.6), but... (sound and gui issue)

Post by bachmaninoff » 31 Dec 2010 13:26

Hey thanks for the prompt response!

I don't think my version of Renoise is 64 bit, but I suppose I could be wrong about that. On their website I only see info on 64 bit Linux, not for OSX.

Which version are you using for Garageband? iLife '11?

Anyway, Happy New Years!

bachmaninoff
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Dec 2010 09:57

Re: Demoing on OSX (10.6), but... (sound and gui issue)

Post by bachmaninoff » 31 Dec 2010 14:00

i downloaded a free 64 bit VST (TAL filter) and it doesn't show up in Renoise, so I'm pretty sure this version is 32 bit (if that helps)... :)

jipumarino
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Mar 2011 11:53

Re: Demoing on OSX (10.6), but... (sound and gui issue)

Post by jipumarino » 23 Mar 2011 12:07

Are there any news regarding this bug? I seem to be having the same issue.
Thanks!

http://i.min.us/ijWmHY.png

jipumarino
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Mar 2011 11:53

Re: Demoing on OSX (10.6), but... (sound and gui issue)

Post by jipumarino » 01 Apr 2011 22:11

I just wanted to let you know the the Renoise team acknowledged this as an issue in their software:
http://www.renoise.com/board/index.php? ... splay-gui/

ocular
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 Apr 2011 13:54

Re: Demoing on OSX (10.6), but... (sound and gui issue)

Post by ocular » 22 Apr 2011 17:07

Having the same problem: No Sound. All my other plugins are working properly. The modules cannot be scrolled in any way, and I cannot get any sound out of KarmaFX.

I'm using a Macbook Pro, i7 at 2.8Ghz, 8G RAM, Mac OS X 10.6.7.

I'm in Garageband '11 V6.0.2 utilizing the Menu item Window:Keyboard Typing as the keyboard input device ...
as I said, all my other synth modules work completely (I have Native Instruments complete suite, Helix, ... you name it.)
I even have the Tassman 4 Modular synth.

I'll purchase as soon as I can get sound out of the KarmaFX demo...
-ron

karmafx
Site Admin
Posts: 1181
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 16:37

Re: Demoing on OSX (10.6), but... (sound and gui issue)

Post by karmafx » 27 Apr 2011 22:51

The problem in renoise should now be fixed according to them:
http://www.renoise.com/board/index.php? ... y-its-gui/

Post Reply