Bug? or incorrect patching?

Bug Reporting
Post Reply
matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Posts: 233
Joined: 25 Oct 2005 04:06
Contact:

Bug? or incorrect patching?

Post by matthewjumpsoffbuildings » 07 Jun 2006 11:35

heres an fxp...

http://www.freefileupload.net/file.php? ... leTake.fxp

if i put the note controller on poly2 mode, it only plays every second note...on poly3, only every third....

whats the story?

also u will see why i want the adsrs to have an option for "pad mode" becasue i have heaps of adsrs, and true i want to play it in mono mode, but the cutoffs/res adsrs need to fade in every time i trigger a note, and fade out also.... a pad option in the note controller that creates temporary voices to allow the attack and release of all those parameters would be nice :D im never gonna shut up about this u kno :P

:lol: :lol: :lol:

btw if you want to use that patch for karmas preset library go for it....

karmafx
Site Admin
Posts: 1170
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 16:37

Post by karmafx » 11 Jun 2006 20:29

Hi Matthew !

have looked at the patch. At first sight it does look like a glitch, but actually it makes sense !

The first thing you have to be aware of is that modules before the controller are polyphonic, while modules after are monophonic.
You know this already of course, but it is important to stress, since
using modulation signals from either side of the controller on the other side usually will cause unpredictable results.

In this case you have the polyphonic Modulator2 wired into the monophonic Filter3. Simply disabling Filter3 or cutting the wire will make you patch work the way you wanted.

So to solve it you have to either make a new monophonic ADSR modulator after the controller and wire that into Filter3 or alternatively move Filter3 in front of the controller in the signal chain.

hope this makes sense to you ?!

- KarmaFX

robenestobenz
Posts: 110
Joined: 01 Oct 2005 03:08

Post by robenestobenz » 11 Jun 2006 21:40

Interesting read Kasper, didn't realised Karma differentiated between mono and poly modules like that.

karmafx
Site Admin
Posts: 1170
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 16:37

Post by karmafx » 11 Jun 2006 22:37

Yep, actually it is an advantage. With this scheme you can place all you effects (delay, reverb, etc) after the controllers in the signal chain, to save CPU, since signal is one voice monophonic at that point.
Unless of course you want them per voice :-)

matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Posts: 233
Joined: 25 Oct 2005 04:06
Contact:

Post by matthewjumpsoffbuildings » 12 Jun 2006 02:19

so i wanted 2 voices panned and effected differently - should i use 2 note controllers? or what?

thanks :D

frankvg
Posts: 32
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 15:15

Post by frankvg » 22 Jun 2006 01:34

matthewjumpsoffbuildings wrote:so i wanted 2 voices panned and effected differently - should i use 2 note controllers? or what?

thanks :D
So, should you? Have you figured it out :?: Please let us know :!:

matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Posts: 233
Joined: 25 Oct 2005 04:06
Contact:

Post by matthewjumpsoffbuildings » 22 Jun 2006 01:36

i havent worked it out - will someone please help us out here? :D

robenestobenz
Posts: 110
Joined: 01 Oct 2005 03:08

Post by robenestobenz » 26 Jun 2006 12:31

By voices, do you mean oscillators or instances of a note?

matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Posts: 233
Joined: 25 Oct 2005 04:06
Contact:

Post by matthewjumpsoffbuildings » 27 Jun 2006 01:14

i mean i want to have 2 amps with different panning being fed by different osc/filter combinataions....

ie

Osc1 -> SVF1 -> Amp1 (panned leftish)
Osc2 -> SVF1 -> Amp1 (panned leftish)

Osc3 -> SVF2 -> Amp2 (panned rightish)
Osc4 -> SVF2 -> Amp2 (panned rightish)

robenestobenz
Posts: 110
Joined: 01 Oct 2005 03:08

Post by robenestobenz » 27 Jun 2006 09:15

It's a tough question then.

You could use two note controllers, probably using more CPU by way of a greater amount of polyphonic modules and saving CPU by having any subsequent effects monophonic. Also, if you just want to pan each osc differently, you'll only need to place an amp module before the output in each signal path - saving some CPU by not having many stereo modules.

Another approach would be to use one note controller with the effects/filters you want placed in the signal path between the oscs and the note controller. I think this might save CPU by only having one note controller, but then again you will end up with more polyphonic modules and you'll need a stereo signal path right the way through.

I reckon the first scenario of having one note controller for each OSC would probably be better on CPU and having each signal path separate right until the end will make adjusting levels etc. of each path easier too. Note that the CPU usage stuff is only me guessing based on what Kasper's said though - he's the authority on what works best, so maybe we'll get some input from him.

dbjungle
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Jul 2006 05:18

Post by dbjungle » 20 Jul 2006 05:24

I just installed the synth modular today and I was having trouble panning an osc. I have an amp in between it and my controller, but still no luck. I searched and found this, but that sounds like what I was trying originally.

matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Posts: 233
Joined: 25 Oct 2005 04:06
Contact:

Post by matthewjumpsoffbuildings » 21 Jul 2006 23:55

for panning to work make sure you set the amp module, and all subsequent modules, to stereo. theres a little icon top-right of each module, a little circle....click it....on circle = mono, two = stereo :D

karmafx
Site Admin
Posts: 1170
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 16:37

Post by karmafx » 29 Jul 2006 08:49

that's right....or you can simply modulate the pan knob on the output module... that is if you dont care about stereo in your effects.

Post Reply