has anyone tested aftertouch ?

General feedback, questions and feature requests.
Post Reply
karmafx
Site Admin
Posts: 1180
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 16:37

has anyone tested aftertouch ?

Post by karmafx » 13 Jun 2006 00:11

the miditrig module now has aftertouch on the menu....
My own midi-keyboard doesn't have aftertouch so please help,
and let me know if it works for you ?

matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Posts: 233
Joined: 25 Oct 2005 04:06
Contact:

Post by matthewjumpsoffbuildings » 13 Jun 2006 00:20

thats one thing i never understood - what is aftertouch and how do i use it? :lol:

robenestobenz
Posts: 110
Joined: 01 Oct 2005 03:08

Post by robenestobenz » 13 Jun 2006 11:09

Ah, I wish my keyboard had aftertouch.

Matt: It's a feature which lets you send out controller data by exerting and easing pressure on a key after you've played it's note.

matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Posts: 233
Joined: 25 Oct 2005 04:06
Contact:

Post by matthewjumpsoffbuildings » 13 Jun 2006 12:55

ahhh ok i dont have that dammit sounds useful 8)

robenestobenz
Posts: 110
Joined: 01 Oct 2005 03:08

Post by robenestobenz » 13 Jun 2006 14:30

Yeah, if you tie it to something like cutoff, resonance or LFO speed etc, you can get some really expressive sounds. It brings a synth's expression a bit closer to real instruments by offering more variety in the way you can choose to play a note.

steponeloops
Posts: 7
Joined: 15 Jun 2006 21:18
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Aftertouch? HowTo?

Post by steponeloops » 06 Jul 2006 11:10

Dear fellows,

I bought myself that nice new M-Audio keyboard controller (axiom 25). I have to say that for Euro 195.- it's real value for money.

And it might be the only one at this price range which provides aftertouch...

Now I've tried mess'n around with that midi data modifier module, but I had no luck till now...

Any suggestions how it has to be wired?

Thank you

step

airyck
Posts: 14
Joined: 01 Oct 2005 11:51
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA, U.S.
Contact:

Post by airyck » 24 Jul 2006 05:59

I'll give it a try tommorrow and come back and let you guys know. I've got after touch on my novation remote 8)

airyck
Posts: 14
Joined: 01 Oct 2005 11:51
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA, U.S.
Contact:

Post by airyck » 24 Jul 2006 07:44

I went home and tested it, unfortunately I couldn't get it to work. :shock: I just set up a patch to have aftertouch control the Lfo amount and it just wouldn't "hear" the aftertouch data when I had the modulator set on aftertouch. If I switched it to pitch bend or something else then I was able to control it, but unfortunately no aftertouch. If you need me to try anything just let me know, since I have aftertouch it's the least I can do for you. :?

karmafx
Site Admin
Posts: 1180
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 16:37

Post by karmafx » 29 Jul 2006 08:50

kewl....I'll be looking into aftertouch again then !

Post Reply