Is there a way for FM-style synthesis?

General feedback, questions and feature requests.
Post Reply
Argitoth
Posts: 189
Joined: 06 Dec 2007 15:05
Location: Mesa, AZ
Contact:

Is there a way for FM-style synthesis?

Post by Argitoth » 07 Dec 2007 01:31

I'm a noob so I don't know how to use KarmaFX fully, but is there a way to do an FM-style grid synthesis like FM8, Toxic III, and Sytrus? They all use that grid thing with knobs. Is there a way to emulate this in KarmaFX or is there plans for something? Thanks!

-Argitoth

flos
Posts: 80
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 23:13
Location: Rovigo, Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Post by flos » 07 Dec 2007 22:48

Hey, you are running too fast... let us take a breath! :D
Ok, there isn't a matrix like with a traditional synth but of course you can do cascaded modulators, auto-modulation and things like that... it's pretty easy, but if you want to make something big pray for your CPU and get a lot of patience to make all the routings...
How to make this: take an osc ctrl+click on it and holding ctrl click on the freq parameter of whatever osc (even the same!). All clear? 8)

dj.tuBIG/MaliceX
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Oct 2007 08:18

Post by dj.tuBIG/MaliceX » 09 Dec 2007 12:07

Dang! :O Thanks for that tip.

Another option is to link the OSC's freq. setting to a HFO.

ksn
Posts: 36
Joined: 26 Apr 2006 15:14
Location: France
Contact:

Post by ksn » 09 Dec 2007 19:30

well of course you also have the specialized FM controller for that

dj.tuBIG/MaliceX
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Oct 2007 08:18

Post by dj.tuBIG/MaliceX » 10 Dec 2007 01:19

That's right, but the problem with that controller is it's a bit touchy to work with, and somewhat unfamilliar for some people more familliar with working with oscillator-to-oscillator.

ksn
Posts: 36
Joined: 26 Apr 2006 15:14
Location: France
Contact:

Post by ksn » 10 Dec 2007 09:27

My concern with this module is that the Modindex seems a bit "short" with Antia on, i'd like to be able to turn this knob more :P

flos
Posts: 80
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 23:13
Location: Rovigo, Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Post by flos » 11 Dec 2007 20:00

If you want extreme modulation you can use an amplifier and osc to osc modulation ;)

Argitoth
Posts: 189
Joined: 06 Dec 2007 15:05
Location: Mesa, AZ
Contact:

Post by Argitoth » 11 Dec 2007 22:50

wait, an amplifier for what? I thought that was standard.

flos
Posts: 80
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 23:13
Location: Rovigo, Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Post by flos » 12 Dec 2007 00:09

Standard? Well I simply use it to control the modulation amount, I connect the modulator to the carrier through an amplifier module, that's all. Well if you don't want to use it, don't do that. ;)

Argitoth
Posts: 189
Joined: 06 Dec 2007 15:05
Location: Mesa, AZ
Contact:

Post by Argitoth » 12 Dec 2007 06:51

Ah, very good flos. :D

dj.tuBIG/MaliceX
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Oct 2007 08:18

Post by dj.tuBIG/MaliceX » 12 Dec 2007 18:40

Sort of related, but shouldn't this method work with PHASE modulation as well, rather than frequency?

I've tried it with phase, but it has no effect. What's going on?

Argitoth
Posts: 189
Joined: 06 Dec 2007 15:05
Location: Mesa, AZ
Contact:

Post by Argitoth » 12 Dec 2007 20:00

Ooooh sweet, I'd love to get KarmaFX to do phase modulation!

ksn
Posts: 36
Joined: 26 Apr 2006 15:14
Location: France
Contact:

Post by ksn » 12 Dec 2007 21:30

dj.tuBIG/MaliceX wrote:Sort of related, but shouldn't this method work with PHASE modulation as well, rather than frequency?

I've tried it with phase, but it has no effect. What's going on?
I also tried it, same result

dj.tuBIG/MaliceX
Posts: 61
Joined: 02 Oct 2007 08:18

Post by dj.tuBIG/MaliceX » 13 Dec 2007 14:39

See the report topic. I don't think OSC-PHASE even works at all. Tried all possible options to use it, there's no change in the signal at all.

ksn
Posts: 36
Joined: 26 Apr 2006 15:14
Location: France
Contact:

Post by ksn » 13 Dec 2007 23:49

i checked the other thread and can clearly see why now :)

Post Reply